blank masthead

Jackson teachers recognized at Excellence Banquet

May 10, 2013 -- 5:44pm


Five Jackson teachers were recognized at the Educator Appreciation Banquet held by the Jackson Area Chamber of Commercethis week. Cindy Rodgers, Steve Wachter, Casey Brennan, Paul Fliege and Renee Deken were named as the 2013 Educators of the Year. Executive Director of the Jackson Chamber of Commerce Brian Gerau (Gir-oh) tells KZIM KSIM that he that this year’s banquet had the best turnout yet. Gerau says that teachers are not recognized enough for what they do to help kids and he is happy that they had a ceremony to do just that. The chamber sent nomination forms for Educator of the Year to each of the Jackson schools and a nomination committee picked out the best candidates based on merit and the opinions of other teachers. All five teachers received a gift bag containing $500 worth of prizes and a $100 check from the Jackson R-2 School Foundation.


Return to: Local News Blog