blank masthead
1
2
3
4

County presents use tax on April ballot

Jan 22, 2013 -- 5:30pm

 

Cape Girardeau County commissioners decided today against placing a use-tax question on the April ballot, following the Missouri Supreme Court ruling last year that governments could no longer take sales taxes from consumers on vehicles purchased out of state or on person-to-person sales. According to Scott County Clerk Rita Milam, commissioners there will be presenting the issue to the voters in April.  This is the last day a ballot question for April can be certified. Some local governments are facing up to a 20 percent dip in annual sales tax revenue.  A use tax in Scott County would be 1 percent. Any city with a voter-approved use tax could charge the amount equal to city sales tax.  The legislature passed a bill during the 2012 session that would have allowed the collection of sales tax on vehicle purchases, but it was vetoed by Gov. Jay Nixon. Some House Republicans attempted to override the veto but could not come up with enough votes.  Approximately 40 Missouri counties have a use tax. A few were able to add use taxes in November elections, but, overall, most voters said they did not want one when the question was placed on the ballot.

Return to: Local News Blog

Interact